Vitamin D3


Vitamin D is produces in the somatic cells during sun exposure (UVB rays). Thus, the body is able to produce the vitamin itself when there is enough exposure to sunlight. By this process, up to 90 % of the vitamin D needed by the organism is produced in the somatic cells. During exposure to UVB radiation the skin produces a pre-stage of vitamin D from cholesterol, which is then converted into an effective form in the kidneys and the liver.

In winter, the sun is too low to provide enough UV rays for the vitamin D synthesis. In this season, a healthy person lives of the vitamin D reserves in the body's fat tissue. Flu epidemics strike us mostly in February and March seeing that the vitamin D reserves in the fat tissue get lower and lower with the ongoing winter.

Vitamin D3

In the sunny months (April to September) it is important to get enough sun. However, it is also recommendable to not be exposed to the sun for too long and too often. It is enough to hold the arms and the face in the sun for ten to fifteen minutes a day. Sunscreen with a high SPF prevents the production of vitamin D almost completely. That is why it is reasonable to wait a bit before applying sunscreen and to expose your unprotected skin to the sun for some minutes. The skin cannot produce vitamin D behind closed windows in the car or the house because UV rays do not go through glass.

The chemical name for vitamin D3 is cholecalciferol and it has been known since 1918.



Functions in the body

Vitamin D is involved in thousands of regulation processes in the somatic cells and therefore plays a key role in maintaining a healthy body. A vitamin D deficiency leads to an increased risk of disease - especially in winter months - if there is a lack of UV radiation. Calciferol/vitamin D is deeply involved in many processes in the body, such as bone formation. It influences the calcium metabolism and thus increases the calcium level in the blood.

Vitamin D counts among the liposoluble vitamins. It helps to strengthen bones and teeth and is believed to have a protective effect against diabetes, cancer and various cardiovascular diseases. There are even studies about a significant influence of vitamin D on the mental health of people.



Vitamin D3 in food

Due to the geographical position, it is hard for people in Central Europe to produce a sufficient amount of the "sun vitamin" in winter. Some physicians think that it is possible to receive enough vitamin D through food. In theory, that might be true but in reality it cannot be done. In order to rely on food for a sufficient vitamin D intake, one must eat fish with a high fat content (such as mackerel or salmon) 3-5 times a week. Or drink a minimum of ten glasses of milk or orange juice enriched with vitamin D a day.

Thus, the production of vitamin D has to rely mainly by UVB radiation or the intake of vitamin D preparations. According to the German Nutrition Society, especially infants, toddlers and elderly persons benefit from an additional intake of vitamin D. Physicians recommend to meet the demand for vitamin D by using a preparation (after evaluating the vitamin D level).



Vitamin D3 deficiency

According to various studies, approx. 60 % of the German population suffer from a vitamin D deficiency. Based on recent research results, the German Nutrition Society (DGE) recommended increasing the reference value for the daily vitamin D demand. Now, it is at 20 micrograms.

Insufficient supply with vitamin D (D hypovitaminosis) results in an abnormal softness of bones, leading to osteoporosis with adults and rachitis (abnormal bending of bones) with children.

Vitamin D deficiencies are often trivialised since an undersupply does not cause an acute psychological strain and since there are no direct, noticeable symptoms. Therefore, most people are not aware of about the importance of this vitamin. A simple blood test is enough to quickly determine a vitamin D deficiency.



We are pointing out that not all of these statements have been approved by orthodox medicine since there is a lack of placebo-controlled studies.

Vitamin D3


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin A Mangel

Further articles

Vitamin D3


Vitamin D wird in den Körperzellen unter Sonneneinstrahlung (UVB Strahlen) gebildet. Der Körper kann das Vitamin somit selbst herstellen, wenn ausreichend Sonnenexposition besteht. Durch diesen Prozess werden in den Körperzellen bis zu 90 Prozent des vom Organismus benötigten Vitamin D hergestellt. In der Haut wird aus Cholesterin unter UVB-Sonneneinstrahlung eine Vorstufe des Vitamin D synthetisiert (gebildet), die daraufhin in Niere und Leber in die wirksame Form umgewandelt wird.

Im Winter steht die Sonne zu tief um genügend UV-Strahlung für die Vitamin D Synthese zu gewährleisten. In dieser Jahreszeit lebt ein gesunder Mensch von Vitamin D-Vorräten im Fettgewebe des Körpers. Die Grippewellen suchen uns überwiegend im Februar und März heim, da der Vitamin D Vorrat im Fettgewebe mit andauerndem Winter immer geringer wird.

Vitamin D3

In den Sonne-Monaten (April bis September) heißt es Sonne genießen. Dabei sollte man darauf achten, sich der Sonne nicht zu oft und nicht zu lange auszusetzen. Es genügt die Arme und das Gesicht zehn bis fünfzehn Minuten am Tag zu sonnen. Sonnenschutzmittel mit hohem Lichtschutzfaktor verhindern die Vitamin-D-Bildung beinahe vollständig. Deshalb ist es sinnvoll, die Haut nicht gleich einzucremen, sondern sie ruhig dem Sonnenlicht ein paar Minuten ungeschützt auszusetzen. Bei geschlossenen Fenstern im Auto oder im Haus kann die Haut kein Vitamin D bilden, da Glas undurchlässig für UV-Strahlung ist.

Vitamin D3 besitzt den chemischen Namen Cholecalciferol und ist seit dem Jahre 1918 bekannt.



Funktion im Körper

Vitamin D ist an tausenden von Regulierungsvorgängen in Körperzellen beteiligt und spielt deshalb eine Schlüsselrolle für die Gesundheit. Ein Mangel an Vitamin D hat ein erhöhtes Krankheitsrisiko zur Folge, vor allem in den Wintermonaten, wenn nicht ausreichend UV-Strahlung zur Verfügung steht. Stark eingebunden in der Funktion des Körpers ist Calciferol/Vitamin D u.a. beim Knochenaufbau, dort wirkt es auf den Kalzium-Stoffwechsel und erhöht dadurch den Kalziumspiegel im Blut.

Vitamin D zählt zu den fettlöslichen Vitaminen. Es unterstützt die Stärkung von Knochen und Zähnen und soll auch als Schutzfaktor gegen Diabetes, Krebs und verschiedene Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen wirken. Es gibt sogar Studien über einen bedeutenden Effekt von Vitamin D auf die Psyche des Menschen.



Vitamin D3 in der Nahrung

Für die Bevölkerung Mitteleuropas ist es in den Wintermonaten wegen der geografischen Lage schwierig das Sonnenvitamin in ausreichendem Maß zu bilden.

Einige Ärzte sind der Meinung, dass man Vitamin D in ausreichender Menge über die Nahrung aufnehmen kann. Theoretisch ist das richtig, aber in der Praxis leider nicht umzusetzen. Dazu müsste man nämlich 3-5-mal pro Woche fettreichen Fisch (z.B. Makrele oder Lachs) essen. Oder am Tag mindestens zehn Gläser Milch beziehungsweise mit Vitamin D angereicherten Orangensaft trinken.

Die Vitamin D-Bildung muss also hauptsächlich durch UVB-Strahlung oder über die Einnahme von Vitamin-D-Präparaten erfolgen. Nach Deutscher Gesellschaft für Ernährung sind vor allem bei Säuglingen, Kleinkindern und älteren Personen zusätzliche Vitamin D-Gaben wichtig. Die Empfehlung von Medizinern lautet nach vorheriger Bestimmung des Vitamin D-Spiegels den Bedarf mit einem Präparat abzudecken.



Vitamin D3 Mangel

Nach Messungen leiden etwa 60 Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung unter Vitamin D-Unterversorgung. Infolge neuer Forschungsergebnisse empfahl die DGE einen erhöhten Referenzwert für den täglichen Vitamin D-Bedarf, er liegt jetzt bei 20 Mikrogramm.

Bei einer unzureichenden Versorgung mit Vitamin D (D-Hypovitaminose) tritt als Mangelerscheinung vor allem eine abnorme Weichheit der Knochen auf, wodurch bei Erwachsenen Osteoporose und bei Kindern Rachitis (Knochenverbiegungen) entsteht.

Ein Vitamin D-Mangel wird häufig unterschätzt, da die Unterversorgung meist keinen akuten Leidensdruck verursacht und zunächst keine spürbaren Krankheitssymptome zur Folge hat. Die Wichtigkeit dieses Vitamins ist den meisten Menschen deshalb nicht bewusst. Eine einfache Blutuntersuchung genügt, um einen Vitamin D-Mangel schnell festzustellen.



Wir weisen darauf hin, dass nicht alle Aussagen von der Schulmedizin akzeptiert sind, da es an placebo-kontrollierten klinischen Studien fehlt.

Vitamin D3


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin D3 im Körper


Vitamin A Mangel

Weitere Artikel